Halfway through week 5

Standard

Woohoo! The Unabomber roommate has moved out. Apparently it wasn’t just me who had issues with her. She was rude to everyone. She even moved out suddenly one day without a word to anyone. Just took her stuff and left.

We are halfway through week 5. We’ve pretty much wrapped up learning Java. This week we’ve been learning MySQL and database basics. Once again, tough stuff, but involved the same thought processes as programming. It was great to learn together with the .NET cohort as a unified group and get to know them a little better.  SQL commands are similar between platforms, but not exact. Eric was teaching to the .NET guys because that was what he was familiar with. We had to hustle a bit and google when a command wouldn’t do what it was supposed to do. Typically, it was just a minor change, like order of commands or a different keyword somewhere.  We learned enough to really help us develop our individual projects.

I’ve chosen to incorporate my old life into my capstone by developing a site that acts as an online marketplace and gallery for the artwork of developmentally disabled artists. Most of these organizations are so poorly-funded that they don’t have very nice websites and rely on local exposure to market their artists’ work. These artists use their art to make their living so I thought it would be helpful to consolidate all the artwork into one place and provide more exposure by appealing to a global audience. Once I finish this, I’m going to continue to maintain it and get as many organizations as possible to participate and hopefully increase art sales for these individuals who work so hard to create work that brings enjoyment to others.

So that’s what I’m working on tonight for the next hour or so, then my cohortees and I are going to get Chinese for dinner. Then more data modeling until it’s time for bed.

About wildv

I am a web developer, designer, and writer. On the side, I teach art to children and adults at an art studio that is housed in a historic building that is rumored to be haunted (I've never seen the ghost). I love Jesus, being outdoors, traveling, exploring new (to me) cultures, hiking, minimalism, and cooking gourmet food. An introvert and an INFP, I love people, but need solitude, preferably in the wilderness, to recharge.

Leave a Reply

