preparing for SWC Guild’s programming bootcamp – 18 more days

Standard

I start the Java cohort at the Software Craftsmanship Guild in 18 days!

One thing I wasn’t expecting about this time leading up to SWC Guild’s programming bootcamp was the amount of homework in the weeks before we start. SCG requires us to complete Team Treehouse classes covering HTML/CSS and Javascript, and a Udemy class covering C#. I’ve been doing the HTML/CSS course for a little over two weeks and I’m maybe halfway through. It’s tough already balancing my work schedule with getting ready for Christmas and doing bootcamp homework. Dev Bootcamp requires about 50 hours of homework prior to the beginning of the program; at some point I heard that SWC Guild’s homework was about 40 hours. I think I’m spending more than that because I stop the video frequently to take notes and rewatch sections to make sure I understand parts. The material in this course isn’t at all difficult, but it is time consuming. Regardless, I do feel it’s a good idea to kickstart us a little. It’s great that the students will be starting from the same level, more or less.

There’s also some preparation required for getting my apartment set up. The bed is a weird size, full size extra long, so I need to get sheets and bedding. There are lists to be made and details to be handled so I can make a graceful temporary exit from my current life for the next 12 weeks. I need to get my son his driver’s license so he can help out with errands and driving duty.

We’re also considering a little reward after all this is over. Maybe a cruise??? It’s getting harder to find vacations that work for all of us now that the boys are getting older, but a cruise has something for all of us. I’m thinking Mexico on spring break.

One of the more difficult moments this past month was telling my boss that I would be quitting. I really, really love my job teaching art classes. The environment where I work is amazing. I work in a paint-your-own pottery art studio that also provides studio space for an incredible group of artists who also happen to have developmental disabilities. We have a coffee shop in our space and I get to play barista sometimes. I’ll miss teaching my after school and preschool art classes each week. And I was just starting to teach adults too, at the Buckeye Lake Winery. There’s nothing like teaching painting while enjoying the lake view with a bloody mary in one hand.

But still.

I know I keep saying this, but I can’t not do this.

Leave a Reply

